All friends and family

The house is big

But is it big enough ?

Friends, family

My kids, their kids, alberts brothers wives and children

And their grandchildren too

And all have accepted the invitation

I guess I’ll be cooking pies

But the shock of Alberts bowel cancer, and the knowledge of our nieces bowel cancer

Made us realise

Time is short

And we have those we love around us now

And I swore never ever to do another huge party

And last year I didn’t

This year

It seems I will

Sandra

See less See more
#2 ·
I have just booked our Christmas Dinner at a hotel we used for two years running and loved it.
I did it to stop my wife having to shop, prepare, cook, serve. consume, clear up and wash up. Being considerate as I am.
So she said "I will just have to do it all Boxing Day"...………………………………. just can't please some people.

Ray.

#4 ·
Get the apron on Ray and surprise her.

Terry

Reactions: raynipper
#5 ·
I'm a lousy cook Terry. I can feed myself but cooking is an art I have never mastered. I do a packet from the freezer and into the microwave with no washing up. To me thats efficiency.

Ray.

#7 ·
And what's wrong with a boiled egg and toast dippers for Christmas lunch ?

The egg of course, represents chicken and the toast all the veggie bits, the butter is the fat content, if you put it on thickly enough.

Job's a good'un, problem solved, everyone will be happy and relieved (except Waitrose, M&S, Tesco, Ocado, Morrisons, Sainsbury's, Coop and any others I've overlooked).

#6 ·
Pie party sounds a good idea. Perhaps guests could all bring one?

Ray, Boxing Day is not as pressured, I don't think, than Christmas Day for the cook. We always used to go out but then others wanted to join us and they moaned about silly things and spoilt it. We now share the duties with our daughter. It is her turn this year. Phew! I don't mind cooking but hate entertaining.

#8 ·