Cordless Phones & Wi-Fi - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 19:56 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rushden, Northants
My Motorhome: Mercedes 614D
Posts: 6,843
Thanks: 46
Thanked 265 Times in 244 Posts
Personal Aire
Cordless Phones & Wi-Fi

We have three phone lines at the factory with a fax on one dedicated line and two cordless phone sets on the other two, with a base station + two handsets.

Up until fairly recently they have been OK, but since we bought the new HP towers to run Win8.1, the phones have started to have issues with connection loss between base and handsets and other issues.

Since the second tower was started last week it has got much worse, and the problem appears to be that the 2.4gHz frequency is shared by both the phones and the router wi-fi, both HP towers using wi-fi for the internet.

We could drop back to ethernet cabling as they have that facility, but have looked at upgrading the phones to ones that use a different frequency, 1.93 to 1.99gHz being a popular choice.

Panasonic do a few models, KX-TGF350M or KX-TGF380M being two examples, but I can't find them in the UK yet.

I called our good friend, Tim in the 'States and he is going to see what he can pick up for us.

Might help someone else with a similar issue who cannot revert to ethernet.

Peter
listerdiesel is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to listerdiesel For This Useful Post:
cabby (08-08-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2016, 22:50
Senior Member
 
philoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bridgend, South Wales.
My Motorhome: Autotrail Dakota Super Lowline
Posts: 2,112
Thanks: 29
Thanked 118 Times in 112 Posts
Personal Aire
Are you sure your existing phones are made for the UK market Peter?

According to Panasonic, UK DECT phones use 1.8 - 1.9ghz

http://eng.faq.panasonic.com/app/ans...cy-information.

and an example of a Panansonic phone sold fo the UK market

http://www.panasonic.com/uk/consumer...x-tgd313e.html

Last edited by philoaks; 09-08-2016 at 22:52.
philoaks is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 09:12 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rushden, Northants
My Motorhome: Mercedes 614D
Posts: 6,843
Thanks: 46
Thanked 265 Times in 244 Posts
Personal Aire
listerdiesel is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 09:41
Senior Member
 
philoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bridgend, South Wales.
My Motorhome: Autotrail Dakota Super Lowline
Posts: 2,112
Thanks: 29
Thanked 118 Times in 112 Posts
Personal Aire
Quote:
Originally Posted by listerdiesel View Post
Existing phones are BT cordless, Phil.

Peter
Ah right. Definitely UK market then. Just seems odd that they are operating at 2.4ghz
philoaks is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 11:16
Senior Member
 
pippin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mid-Wales Coast
My Motorhome: Hymer Van 522
Posts: 8,275
Thanks: 141
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
It could be due to "intermodulation products" interference - don't ask!

The 2.4GHz WiFi signal and the 1.8GHZ phone signals will not be "pure" and may well be producing "sproggies" -exacerbated due to physical proximity.

USA phones will almost certainly not be licensed for use in UK.
pippin is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 11:40
Senior Member
 
philoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bridgend, South Wales.
My Motorhome: Autotrail Dakota Super Lowline
Posts: 2,112
Thanks: 29
Thanked 118 Times in 112 Posts
Personal Aire
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippin View Post
It could be due to "intermodulation products" interference - don't ask!

The 2.4GHz WiFi signal and the 1.8GHZ phone signals will not be "pure" and may well be producing "sproggies" -exacerbated due to physical proximity.

USA phones will almost certainly not be licensed for use in UK.
Would the sproggies vary according to the wifi channel being used by the router? Just wondering if a change of wifi channel may improve the situation, although Peter may have already tried that one.
philoaks is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 17:14
Senior Member
 
pippin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mid-Wales Coast
My Motorhome: Hymer Van 522
Posts: 8,275
Thanks: 141
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
Yes, they would.
pippin is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2016, 18:32 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
listerdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rushden, Northants
My Motorhome: Mercedes 614D
Posts: 6,843
Thanks: 46
Thanked 265 Times in 244 Posts
Personal Aire
I have tried channel changes on the router but the choice is limited and doesn't seem to have much effect on the problem.

Another option would be to go to a bigger router with more ethernet ports and go cabled, but the pc's are within a few feet of the router so wi-fi seems the neater option.

Peter
listerdiesel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome