From Cadiz to Izmir and beyond - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

5Likes
  • 1 Post By Michael Mcmullen
  • 1 Post By Glandwr
  • 1 Post By raynipper
  • 1 Post By nicholsong
  • 1 Post By jiwawa

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 22-09-2020, 08:54 Thread Starter

My Motorhome: I drive...
From Cadiz to Izmir and beyond

Hi Newbie here....thought i would post this here rather than in the newbie section if thats ok?

This bloody virus thingy eh? 12 months ago we had a thriving business on the south coast of Spain (Cadiz) An English academy which was doing quiet nicely and all seemed tickety boo Then a huge left covid hook out of nowhere and we are on the canvass seeing stars and spitting teeth.

After picking ourselves up and dusting down we decided over the summer that this virus isn't going away any time soon and the viability of a small Language school in a town already creaking with high unemployment (the worst in Europe at over 50%) was untenable.

So we started to formulate an idea. The missus is Turkish and we own a small property in Izmir. So we started to talk about selling up, buying a motorhome and taking a year off to take a slooooow journey back to Turkey. The idea being that if a second wave comes we would be completely self sufficient and could just go off grid if needed.

We have never owned or even rented a motorhome before, so this sounded like a bat s**t crazy idea, just my cup of tea!
Well the day of reckoning is nigh, we take delivery of our 2 year old Fiat Challenger genesis 288 130 cv this week. We move out of our apartment 3rd October and Vamos!