Motorhome Facts Forum banner

Inflatable kayaks

27K views 282 replies 27 participants last post by  barryd 
#1 ·
Does anyone have one? Been wondering about putting one up in the overcab in case we get a summer this year, but I have no knowledge of these things and wouldn't want to buy an inflatable turkey by mistake.

It would need to carry 2 adults (in case I meet the girl of my dreams), or be adjustable for one man and his wee dog.

Thought I'd ask you lot, as you seem to have tried most things in life!:wink2:

#2 · (Edited)
Tuggy, before I trucked, I spent over 20 years selling pleasure boats and chandlery.
The best advice I can give, is buy a quality make.
Remember the old Avon, Zodiac and C Craft. Then remember the cheaper Campari>:)
I have seen a few people with the blow up and some do seem pretty good reasonable ridged so that they don't catch too much wind.

Reactions: tugboat
#3 ·
We have a Sevylor Coloroda and have been most impressed with it. It's reasonably easy to inflate if you use a decent pump and it handles pretty well in the water. You won't get quite the same performance as from a more streamlined rigid one (which we also have) but that's not what it's intended for. It folds up into a reasonably manageable size and fits into a carrying bag. The only thing to think about is drying it before putting it away. We've had to put it in the shower when travelling rather than fold it up wet and then dry it out subsequently.

#4 ·
Wouldnt you be better off with just a mattress in the overcab? If you do meet the girl of your dreams she might think you're a bit wierd if you invite her up for "coffee in my kayak":wink2:. Talking of which puts me in mind of that old joke:- "What is the similarity between a pint of Whitbreads and making love in a canoe? They are both f***ing close to water:grin2: Hey ho, off to take me tablets..................

#7 ·