Fiat Ducato questions: Motors and gearboxes - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

2Likes
  • 1 Post By pagey
  • 1 Post By pagey

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 22-02-2020, 17:15 Thread Starter

My Motorhome: I drive...
Fiat Ducato questions: Motors and gearboxes

Hello Newbie here,
I have various motorhomes and campervans in the past including Fiat Ducato's. Currently I am looking at two options, an automatic motorhome around 2005 vintage, or buying an automatic delivery van (2005 to 2014) and converting it to a campervan. My questions are mainly around motors and gearboxes.

1. With a standard motorhome (automatic gearbox) about 6 metres in length, what is considered the best motor for power and economy, the 2.3 L or the 2.8 or 3.0 L?

2. With the long and high delivery vans L4/H3 (automatic gearbox) - the best size motor for a standard campervan fit out?

3. For the motorhome or campervan, how complicated is it to convert from a manual to automatic gearbox? Approximate cost? In other words, remove the manual gearbox and replace it with an automatic gearbox? (I am not interested in any auto clutch arrangement.)

I am looking at buying a left hand drive in Germany and importing it to Portugal. Another option, I have heard of a place that allows vehicles purchased in Germany to remain registered and insured in that country - but do not know who they are?

Thanks for your attention!
The Following User Says Thank You to travellindude For This Useful Post:
trek (22-02-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 22-02-2020, 17:56

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellindude View Post
Hello Newbie here,
I have various motorhomes and campervans in the past including Fiat Ducato's. Currently I am looking at two options, an automatic motorhome around 2005 vintage, or buying an automatic delivery van (2005 to 2014) and converting it to a campervan. My questions are mainly around motors and gearboxes.