Motorhome Facts Forum banner

230V Fridge only working when battery charger is on

1K views 24 replies 8 participants last post by  eurajohn 
#1 ·
Hi alll.
I am very new to this game and new to the forums so please excuse me if this is a silly question, but I have checked the user manual and googled and cannot find an answer to this.
I have a 2006 Autotrail Tracker with the Sargent 2007 PSU.
When hooked up to EHU and the fridge is set to 230V, the fridge only works when the battery charger is turned on. All 3 pin plugs work fine without the charger being on, but the fridge does not.
Is this normal or is something wrong?
Thanks
Chris

#2 ·
I'm guessing Chris the fridge has a 12v control. It's only the heating element needs the 240v.

Ray.

#4 · (Edited)
Ahhh, good call.
I have just checked and the 12V system is not working when not on EHU, so would that be the problem? I didnt realise the 12V system needed to be functioning for the fridge to work on 230V.
So I switched from leisure battery to vehicle battery on the control panel, the 12V system works, and the fridge runs on EHU without the charger on.
Interestingly, when I switch back to leisure battery (EHU still hooked up but charger off) the fridge stays on, but as soon as I turn a light on, the light comes on for about half a second, then goes off, as does the fridge.
So I am guessing there is an issue with the leisure battery, its circuit, fuse or something. Now I have to find the cause of that problem! What would be the sensible steps to take to check this? It is a brand new battery I fitted from Tanya and is showing as 12.5V on the control panel. I may have done something wrong, or maybe it is a bad battery (it was quite wet when I opened it up - could it have leaked even though it is sealed?). Or maybe the wiring is screwed up somehow (we had to get the wiring fixed when we bought it in May)
Sorry if any of this is obvious but mechanics/electrics are really not my thing

#5 ·