Leisure Battery Not Charging Although Receiving Voltage - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 26-05-2020, 18:34 Thread Starter

My Motorhome: I drive...
Leisure Battery Not Charging Although Receiving Voltage

Hi all, I'm pretty new to all this so please forgive me if this has been mentioned before. However I couldn't find anything relating to this exact problem. So here goes, I recently did a micro camper conversion and the leisure battery is not charging. I can't work out why. I have installed a voltage sensing split charge relay which comes on when I start the engine and supplies voltage to the leisure battery. I have also installed a battery indicator which displays both the voltage and the battery percentage. I can start the engine and leaving it running for a while or take the van on a long drive but the battery doesn't seem to charge, in fact it might lose 1% or 2%. I've instead been charging the battery with a battery charger that plugs into the mains, and that seems to work fine. When I look at the battery indicator it suggests that the battery is charging fine from the mains.
So I'm rather confused. If the battery is receiving voltage from the van battery through the voltage sensing relay then why should it not be charging?

I would really appreciate any help anyone can offer. And if I've left out any details that may be relevant to solving this mystery please let me know.
Many thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 26-05-2020, 19:00

My Motorhome: Pilote 740C Sensation
Personal Aire
Any chance of checking the amps flowing into the battery when you think it is charging. It may be receiving a voltage but is there current flowing?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 26-05-2020, 19:12
EJB

My Motorhome: Burstner Nexxo t620G
Posting the actual voltages under the different situations would help someone to advise you.

Ted.