Motorhome Facts Forum banner

Please don't clutter up 'genuine' threads with waffle

3K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  erneboy 
#1 ·
I'm not trying to be a moderator here, gods only know we had enough of trying to keep peace on here way back.

There's been a number of new members recently trying to get answers.Very pleasing to see something other than 'off topic' or 'subscribers' lounge' in the latest posts list.

Many of them are complete newbies, others would just like something sorted. Please would some of the 'old school' not fill up their threads with irerelevant stuff or 'banter'?
Just answer the question if you can, or ask for further details which might elicit an answer. If you can't, shut up!

Mike

#2 ·
Crikey Mike, did you get out of bed on the wrong side?!

Not sure if you're referring to me but I often come across posts which have been missed. If I can help, I do but even if I can't I will say something to bring the post to the top of the pile - and very often that's enough for someone who CAN make an intelligent contribution to do so.

#5 ·
Sadly many people are given advice and yet don’t bother to comeback and explain if the problem was sorted or not.

It would be helpful if everyone given such advice did let those who have given advice feedback about what they found. That way ALL of us on here learn and can give, perhaps, slightly different or extensive advice if someone seeks help in the future.

Mike and I long remember how impossible it was to keep the peace - I second him on that.

and no, I have never been an Oxford United fan, that link between us never existed.

#6 ·
I left school in 1965, at that time I stopped answering to authority, so whilst I accept it might have gone a little OTT it does no harm, makes the forum a little more fun and DOES NOT STOP the thread being continued until some info is added, if anything it keeps it in the limelight.

And as said if the one posting came back we would happily continue to help.