1990 Ducato 1.9TD in Hymer - recommissioning - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 10:14 Thread Starter

My Motorhome: I drive...
1990 Ducato 1.9TD in Hymer - recommissioning

Hi All,

Newbie here, having just bought a 1990 Hymermobil 564 with the Fiat Ducato 280/14 1.9TD engine with just under 120,000km on the clock. It has been sitting for around six years without being used, so I am just about to start recommissioning it. I have experience with petrol engines, but very little with diesel.

The previous owner had a mechanic install a battery and start the vehicle, using an external fuel tank, bypassing the internal one. That mechanic told her that there is a problem with the injection pump, and it needs taking off, stripping and some internal parts replacing. However, I want to start from the beginning and do the obvious things first. I doubt that six year old diesel is much good, so I believe my first job should be to remove/drain the fuel tank, replace the fuel filter and refill with new diesel. Does anyone have any advice on the best way to do this (e.g. should I remove the fuel tank entirely, and if so, how?) Anyone have experience with typical problems with fuel system on this vehicle? For example, is the injection pump prone to failure after long periods standing, or is there anything else I should be looking at?

Many thanks,

JL, Versoix, Switzerland
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 10:34

Location: Normandy. Just up the D903 from the roundabout with the D15
My Motorhome: Hobby 750 now sold.
Send a message via Skype™ to raynipper
Oh my Gawd, what a can of worms JL.
If the engine runs that must be half the long battle. As pumps and seals do tend to suffer when left for extended periods.
But as your finding out everything else will either leak, rust, absorb moisture, etc. etc.