Towing Dolly Q - Handbrake on but still reversible?? - Motorhome Forums, Motorhome Discussion, Motorhome Chat

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 07:32 Thread Starter

Towing Dolly Q - Handbrake on but still reversible??

Hello guys!

Hope you are all well.

I am new to the towing scene and have recently purchased a McCardle braked towing dolly. It was bought second hand so there were no instructions.

The issue is, this dolly has a handbrake, once I apply this handbrake, the dolly doesn't move forward but is still able to be pushed back??

I am a bit confused wethere this is normal or not, would be greatful of you guys could shed some light onto this with your expertise??

Thank you all in advance and I look forward to your response
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 07:56
p-c

Hi and welcome.
Are you talking about wheels that fit under the front of the towed car?
This would be illegal to use for towing a car behind a motorhome, unless recovering the car.
p-c
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 08:31

This is normal on modern trailers due to auto-reverse brakes. It catches a few caravaners out too when the van rolls away backwards even with the handbrake on.
As stated the are NOT legal for transporting cars, only for recovering breakdowns, & then usually restricted to 40mph.

post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 08:45

My Motorhome: Pilote 740C Sensation
Personal Aire
This is only a guess but when the dolly is pushed backwards the shoes collapse away from the drum as it goes backwards in the normal caravan type system.

On a caravan you must not put the handbrake on if your final movement was a reverse but should pull forward slightly to reset the shoes.

is it like the one in the photo?

Last edited by rayc; 29-03-2015 at 09:46.
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 10:08

My Motorhome: 2013 Hymer 680 MB
Towingmania ,